Graphic Novel…Wednesday?

17 03 2010

It would seem that anyone who is anyone, or at least, anyone who blogs has cutesy titles for various days of the week.  Everyone has Waiting on Wednesday, which is not my favorite feature because I want to know what books are out now!  Or there’s New Crayons or Male Monday.  Unfortunately, no day of the week starts with G.  Go figure.  Even without the cute name, look out for at least one graphic novel post a week.

Graphic novels have, up to this point, not been on the top of my to-read list.  But a few weeks ago, I went to the library and checked out a stack–in part because they look cool.  But also because I’m in school and I don’t have enough time to read.  Sometimes, I just want a quick story while I’m on the train back to school.  And I know other people who are busy with school all the time: teens.  Don’t get me wrong–I love big fat books.  I just don’t always have the time or patience.  Nor do I have access to the best collection of graphic novels.  My public library is wonderful and there is a graphic novel section–two, actually–one for teens and one in the children’s department.  The problem?  Whoever is buying it for the library pays little attention to completing series, or even starting them.  And the library consortium that does interlibrary loan does not often allow their graphic novels to be requested.  So my choices may seem odd, but they’re based on availability.

Whiteout, Volume One by Greg Rucka and Steve Lieber jumped off the shelf at me.  And no, it has nothing to do with the fact that it was recently made into a movie with Kate Beckinsale that got a whopping 7% on Rotten Tomatoes.  Actually, if I had known about that, I might not have picked up this book.  As it stands, I saw the cover and read the blurb which mentioned Antarctica and I was sold.  You can sign me up for all books set in extremely barren and cold places.  You might think that black and white art (which this book has except for the colored cover) would be boring in a white place like Antarctica.  Except you would be wrong, because there’s all the snow blowing around that is depicted in the art and it makes you feel…cold.  Which does great things for setting the scene in this  murder mystery at the South Pole, featuring Carrie Stetko, a tough-as-nails US Marshal.  There is a lot of suspense; kind of like a small-town mystery where there are few suspects, but Antarctica is a whole lot grittier than your average small town.

My problem with this graphic novel?  That the library doesn’t own the second one!  It’s only a two volume series people!  I’m actually considering buying it, reading it and donating it to my library.  It’s that good.

Actions

Information

2 responses

18 03 2010
Sammy the Cat

I met the artist for Whiteout at a Con once. Dude reeked of desperation. I wanted one of his Batman sketches, but he wanted to give me a Whiteout, so that is what I got. I’m not likely to read this, but keep up the good reviews.

18 03 2010
letterstonobody

Thanks, STC! I will do what I can.

Leave a Reply

