Summer Reading List

18 05 2010

Because I’m a nerd, or a budding librarian, or a person who likes guided reading, I have decided to make myself a summer reading list.  And because I rarely read enough adult books, I’m making sure they are included.  But then, what about those YA titles I’ve just never gotten around to?  Or those children’s books I am always saying I’ll read but never manage to check out of the library.  To cover all the areas, I’ve picked out 15 books to read this summer.  And I’m using you, dear readers, to hold myself accountable.

I tried to pick a variety of books in each category and I’ve included my reasons for selecting these particular titles.  It was tough.  There are many books I want to read but not all could make the list.  I realize 15 books actually isn’t all that many, however, the rest of my summer reading will be for two weekly book discussion groups I will be running at my library for our summer reading club.  So I think I’ll have enough to read, and who knows?  I might get distracted by fabulous new titles like Incarceron.  Oh yeah, I expect to be distracted when that book gets checked back in.  Expect updates and some short reviews of these titles in the near future!  Can’t write any more–gotta read!

Adult Titles

  • The Devil in the White City by Erik Larson (non-fiction): Because I miss Chicago and would love to learn more about my adopted city
  • Eat, Pray, Love by Elizabeth Gilbert (memoir): Because it’s been absurdly popular, made into a movie with Julia Roberts and I have a copy of Committed on my shelf.  I must understand the hype!
  • The 19th Wife by David Ebershoff (historical fiction, at least in part): Because I’m a sucker for books about fundamentalist LDS, plus I heard it might appeal to teens.
  • The Poisonwood Bible by Barbara Kingsolver (realistic fiction): Because my friend Marla won’t speak to me again if I don’t read this book!
  • Pride & Prejudice by Jane Austen (classic):  Because I’m embarrassed that I’ve never read it.

Young Adult Titles

  • Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card (sci-fi): Because I love sci-fi, and this is supposed to be quintessential.
  • Houdini the Handcuff King by Jason Lutes & Nick Bertozzi (biography, graphic novel): Because Houdini is awesome.  And this book has been on a couple of awards lists (none that I can remember off the top of my head).
  • The Naming:The First Book of Pellinor by Allison Croggon (fantasy): Because I promised one of my teens in Chicago I would read it and never did.
  • The Outsiders by S.E. Hinton (classic): Because I’m mildly embarrassed that I haven’t read this young adult classic.  What kind of aspiring YA librarian am I?
  • The Princess Diaries by Meg Cabot (chick fic): Because I love Meg Cabot and I can’t believe I haven’t touched this (very pink) series.

Children’s Titles

  • Chains by Laurie Halse Anderson (historical fiction): Because I’ve heard it booktalked in my classes about a million times.
  • The Frog Scientist by Pamela S. Turner (non-fiction): Because it was part of School Library Journal’s Battle of the Books.
  • The Girl Who Threw Butterflies by Mick Cochrane (baseball fiction): Because I needed a baseball book on this list!  And it’s on Chicago Public Library’s Best of the Best list and I trust their judgment.
  • The Higher Power of Lucky by Susan Patron (Newbery winner): Because there was all that controversy about the word “scrotum” on the first page.
  • Inkheart by Cornelia Funke (fantasy): Because I need to know why people love this book series–and what else to recommend to kids who love it.
Actions

Information

4 responses

24 05 2010
Michelle

I am embarrassed to say I’ve also…never read Pride & Prejudice. Wait, let me amend that. I read the first several chapters and put it down, forgot, and never came back to it. I’m pretty sure I did the same with Eat, Pray, Love, too. Can I join you on this reading adventure?!

24 05 2010
Alexa

Absolutely! The more the merrier!

29 05 2010
Nicole

Sadly – I haven’t read The Outsiders either….

29 05 2010
Alexa

I’ll let you know if it’s worth it!

Leave a Reply

