SLJ BotB 2014: The Contenders

5 02 2014

It’s my favorite time of year!  That time when great books are read by authors and then have to face off in School Library Journal’s Battle of the (Kids’) Books!  The list of contenders always inspires me to read some books I’ve been meaning to get to.  And then you get to read hilarious, touching and sometimes totally absurd posts by the authors who are lucky enough to judge this competition.  Really, it doesn’t get any better for bookworms than this.  (For bookworms who prefer adult books, I recommend the Tournament of Books. Same idea, different audience.)

It’s always good to see great books from the past year that I’ve actually read on the list.  Books I’ve read in bold:

ALL THE TRUTH THAT’S IN ME by Julie Berry

THE ANIMAL BOOK by Steve Jenkins

BOXERS AND SAINTS by Gene Yang

A CORNER OF WHITE by Jaclyn Moriarty

DOLL BONES by Holly Black

ELEANOR AND PARK by Rainbow Rowell

FAR FAR AWAY by Tom McNeal

FLORA & ULYSSES by Kate DiCamillo

HOKEY POKEY by Jerry Spinelli

MARCH BOOK ONE by John Lewis, Andrew Aydin, and Nate Powell

MIDWINTERBLOOD by Marcus Sedgwick

P.S. BE ELEVEN by Rita Williams-Garcia

ROSE UNDER FIRE by Elizabeth Wein

THE THING ABOUT LUCK by Cynthia Kadohata

TRUE BLUE SCOUTS OF SUGAR MAN SWAMP by Kathi Appelt

WHAT THE HEART KNOWS by Joyce Sidman

I’ve read half the list this year which is about average.  Which means I have…some amount of months to read the rest?  It starts some time in March to parallel March Madness but I’m not sure when this year.  I guess I had better start reading!  Lucky for me, my hold on All The Truth That’s In Me just came through.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

